Frau's Blog

Week 5 Blog Post – Evaluating Your GAME Plan Progress

Posted on: December 3, 2009

This blog post is actually coming at a unique time for technology at school. Our district server has been down all week and we have limited access to technology for the time being. We are able to get online but we have no access to our desktop or any of our files. It has been a stressful week!

  • How effective were your actions in helping you meet your goals? 
  • Slowly but surely I am beginning to reach my goals. I am taking a few of my lessons and at least brainstorming how to modify them to integrate technology, if not actually modifying them all together. I am looking forward to continuing this because the students really do enjoy using the computers. In addition to the technology, I think they enjoy the change of scenery of being in the computer lab instead of the classroom.

  • What have you learned so far that you can apply in your instructional practice? 
  • Something I have learned is not to be afraid to try new things. Every attempt at trying something new will only help me figure out what is successful and what is not. Even if new lessons are not the greatest, I do not consider it a failure because now I know I need to modify these lessons to make them more effective. I have also learned not to be afraid to ask students for help using new technological tools. Some of these students are very tech-saavy and are more knowledgable about certain things than I am. I welcome their help. I recently had to have a student set up a DVD player for me because while I hooked the DVD player up, there was no audio. One of my students could fix it, so I took advantage of that opportunity to let a student help me out.

  • What do you still have to learn? What new questions have arisen?
  • There are still many technological resources that I am not familiar with that I can use in the classroom. I have discovered a few new web resources just from reading my classmates’ blogs! I am looking forward to testing these new technologies and seeing how I can integrate these resources into my own classroom. It is so wonderful having my classmates as a resource!

  • How will you adjust your plan to fit your current needs?
  • In light of our server being down, I have a greater realization to always have a back-up plan! While technology is a wonderful tool, it is still somewhat fickle. If the internet isn’t down, a specific website could be. Sometimes files are not saved in the correct format to open on different computers. Sometimes videos are deleted or moved or internet filters do not allow teachers to show them. There are many things that could go wrong when relying on technology. Having back-up plans in crucial for times like these. A non-technology related assignment is much better than dealing with 20 bored high school students because the internet was not working. I have had to rely on having back-ups a lot this week since I did not know until I got to school if the server would be working or not – here’s hoping it is up and running again for tomorrow!

    3 Responses to "Week 5 Blog Post – Evaluating Your GAME Plan Progress"

    I hope you have a better week this week. I know how stressful it can be when you don’t have the resources you need at hand. I have also learned not to be afraid to learn something new. I can’t believe how far I have come technology wise since I started this course. I now have more confidence to teach myself how to use tools and software programs that are new to me. I think our students are also great resources — it’s amazing to see how much some of them know about technology. As I start to incorporate more technology into my instruction and teach my students how to use it, I know I will be learning a lot from them, too.

    Hi Stephanie,

    You are making great strides in completing your GAME Plan. I’m so jealous! I haven’t gotten mine off the ground because I don’t know what classes I’ll be teaching next semester and I can’t plan yet. It’s so frustrating!

    I can relate to your school’s tech issues. At my school, our internet connection is very unreliable, most of our computer labs aren’t really well equipped (I don’t have access to the ones that are), etc. However, this is a private school, and most of the students are well off, so they can do a lot of this tech work at home. I just have to let them go and have faith that they will do the assignments correctly. Usually, they come through with flying colors, but there are time when they either misunderstood the assignment, or will give me excuses similar to the ones I just gave.

    Keep up the great work, I’m very impressed with your plan and I’m sure you’ll be fantastic.

    César Rubio

    Thanks Cesar! It is wonderful to have such support through our cohort. I appreciate your comments and kind words.

    Leave a Reply

        • Stephanie: Thanks Cesar! It is wonderful to have such support through our cohort. I appreciate your comments and kind words.
    • Cesar Rubio: Hi Stephanie, You are making great strides in completing your GAME Plan. I'm so jealous! I haven't gotten mine off the ground because I don't know
    • Toni Malvestuto: I hope you have a better week this week. I know how stressful it can be when you don't have the resources you need at hand. I have also learned not

    Categories

