Frau's Blog

Blogging

Posted on: January 18, 2009

My post about blogging became a rant about an internet filter, so I figured I’d post again a bit more specifically. : )

One of the main uses for a blog is for kids to see what they have missed if they were absent from school one day. I have a very difficult time getting my kids to make up work. I let them know about tests or quizzes days in advance and it is still like pulling teeth to get these kids to make them up. Plus, I hate the “What did we do yesterday?” questions that I get nearly everyday because attendance is awful. I woud love to be able to post all assignments to a blog each day so that students will know what they miss without having to take time out of class to figure it out.

I also would like to use it for discussions. I would like to post a link to an article or something and then give students a grade for participating by commenting on the article. There is so much going on in Germany and the students do not realize it. It would be a great way for the kids to learn something about the country that speaks the language they are learning, but also a way for them to interact with each other.

I hope this clears things up a bit! Thanks to my Walden classmates for all their comments!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Stephanie: Thanks Cesar! It is wonderful to have such support through our cohort. I appreciate your comments and kind words.
  • Cesar Rubio: Hi Stephanie, You are making great strides in completing your GAME Plan. I'm so jealous! I haven't gotten mine off the ground because I don't know
  • Toni Malvestuto: I hope you have a better week this week. I know how stressful it can be when you don't have the resources you need at hand. I have also learned not

Categories

